County voters turn out for election

In the Tuesday, November 8, 2016, general election, 1,457 of the 2,319 or 62.83% of eligible Coke County voters participated. Early voting aided in this number with just over half of all voters casting their vote in the weeks leading up to November 8.

Straight ticket was the choice for 851 people with the Republican ticket receiving 779 votes, the Democrat ticket receiving 69 votes, the Libertarian ticket receiving 2 votes and even 1 vote cast for the Green Party ticket.

In the Presidential election, Donald Trump received 1,267 votes, with Hillary Clinton receiving 140 votes, Gary Johnson receiving 16 votes and Jill Stein receiving 2 votes. There were 30 under votes in this race. Under votes are determined by votes not cast in an individual race by eligible voters who did vote in the election and could have cast a vote in that race.

US District 11 Representative Mike Conaway received 1,272 votes to Libertarian Nicholas Landholt's 74 votes. There were 94 under votes in this match up.

Republican Wayne Christian received 1,171 votes in the race for Texas Railroad Commissioner. Democrat Grady Yarbrough received 144 votes, with Libertarian Mark Miller getting 42 votes and Green Party candidate Martina Salinas receiving 14 votes. There were 79 under votes.

Republican Debra Lehrmann had 1,187 votes in her race for Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3. Democrat Mike Westergren had 131 votes, Libertarian Kathie Glass had 41 votes and Rodolfo Rivera Munoz of the Green Party had 17 votes. There were 72 under votes.

In the race for Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5, Republican Paul Green has 1,205 votes to Democrat Dori Contreras Garza's 122 votes, Libertarian Tom Oxford's 32 votes ad Green Party candidate Charles e. Waterbury's 9 votes. There were 80 under votes.

Republican Eva Guzman received 1,177 votes in the election for Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9. Democrat Savannah Robinson had 135 votes. Libertarian Don Fulton had 35, with Jim Chisholm, Green Party, having 14. There were 83 under votes

In the election for Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2, Republican Mary Lou Keel had 1,188 votes. Democrat Lawrence "Larry" Meyers had 135 votes. Libertarian Mark Ash had 32 votes and Green Party candidate Adam King Blackwell Reposa had 12 votes. There were 76 under votes.

In the election for Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5, Republican Scott Walker had 1,212 votes. Democrat Betsy Johnson had 124 votes. Libertarian William Bryan Strange, III, had 23 votes and Judith Sanders-Castro, Green Party, had 12. There were 73 under votes.

In the election for Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6, Republican Michael E. Keasler had 1,182 votes. Democrat Robert Burns had 145 votes and Libertarian Mark W. Bennett had 34 votes. There were 82 under votes.

Republican Marty Rowley had 1,238 votes in the election for District 15 State Board of Education Member. There were 185 under votes.

District 28 Texas State Senator Charles Perry, Republican, had 1,237 votes. There were 187 under votes.

District 72 Texas State Representative Drew Darby, Republican, had 1,278 votes. There were 145 under votes.

Republican Cindy Olson Bourland had 1,227 votes in the election for Place 2, 3rd Court of Appeals Justice. There were 192 under votes.

Republican Melissa Goodwin had 1,226 votes in the election for Place 4, 3rd Court of Appeals Justice. There were 194 under votes.

51st District Judge Barbara Walther, Republican, had 1,230 votes. There were 185 under votes.

51st District Attorney Allison Palmer, Republican, had 1,219 votes. There were 198 under votes.

Republican candidate for Coke County Attorney Nicholas E. Arrott II received 1,279 votes. There were 141 under votes.

Coke County Sheriff Wayne McCutchen, Republican, had 1,297 votes. There were 122 under votes.

Coke County Tax Assessor-Collector Josie Dean, Republican, received 1,274 votes. There were 147 under votes.

Republican Donald S. Robertson had 338 votes cast to be Coke County Commissioner, Precinct 1. There were 33

In the election for Coke County Commissioner, Precinct 3, Republican Marshall Millican had 236 votes. Democrat candidate Charles Yorke had 66 votes and write-in candidate Bill Burns had 65 votes. There were



Coming Right Along! The new building for Robert Lee's First United Methodist Church is beginning to take shape. The church is constructing the building to be used by the congregation, and also by the community of Robert Lee.

11 under votes.

Coke County Constable, Precinct 2, Marty Boyd had 609 votes. There were 67 under votes

Commissioners Court minutes posted

The Coke County Commissioners Court met in special session October 25, 2016 at the courthouse in Robert Lee. Members of the court present included County Judge, Roy Blair, Commissioner, Pct. #1, Montgomery, Troy Commissioner, Pct #2, Paul Williams, Commissioner, Pct #3, Gaylon Pitcock Commissioner, Pct. #4, Joe Sefcik. Clerk Mary Grim was also in attendance.

The meeting opened with prayer given Commissioner Williams and pledge to the flag was recited.

Judge Blair announced the presence of a quorum.

A public hearing was held on the possible consolidation of the presently existing two Justice of the Peace Precincts into a single county-wide Justice of the Peace Precinct and the elimination of the office of Justice of the Peace in one of the existing precincts. As a consequence, there will also be a reduction in the number of Constables from two to a single, county-wide Constable's office. There will be no other changes in the existing boundaries of Commissioners Court precincts or the election precincts. This consolidation is intended to reduce the cost of public offices to the tax payer.

Comments were heard from Bob Bass with Allison, Bass & Associates, LLP.

Public hearing closed at 9:30 a.m. No action was taken.

Comm. Montgomery made a motion to approve the minutes for October 11, 2016. The motion was seconded by Comm. Sefcik. Motion carried.

Comm. Williams made a motion to approve the Order of Consolidation for Justice of the Peace/Constable Precincts combining Justice of the Peace/Constable Precint 1 (Composed of Election Precincts 1 and 3)

and Precinct 2 (Composed of Election Precincts 2 and 4) into a single Justice of the Peace/Constable Precinct, having county-wide jurisdiction. The motion was seconded by Comm. Pitcock. Motion carried.

No action was taken on the burn ban.

Comm. Montgomery made a motion to approve Coke County paying for the meat, paper goods and plaques for the County Employee Appreciation Dinner and setting \$500.00 as an amount to spend on plaques. The motion was seconded by Comm. Pitcock. Motion carried..

Comm. Montgomery made a motion to approve the bond for Monica Reyes, Deputy Clerk in the County/District Clerk's office. The motion was seconded by Comm. Sefcik. (Continued on Page 8)

HOLIDAY CLOSING NOTICE

Holiday Hours:
All facilities of this bank will close at 1:00 pm Wednesday,
November 23. All facilities of this bank will also be closed
Thursday, November 24.

In Observance Of



Thanksgiving

Day

Please plan your banking requirements during regular banking hours to avoid any inconvenience.

Robert Lee State Bank

Member FDIC 453-2545 Robert Lee, Texas



Wednesday,
November 23rd, 2016
Robert Lee State Bank
9:00 am - Noon

All proceeds will go
toward the Kirk Bagwell
Memorial Scholarship
benefitting the
RLHS 2017 Seniors.