# BSERVER/ NTERPRISE

(USPS 467-480) (ISSN 8750-197X)

Serving Coke County

Vol. 128, No. 32

## Early voting continues in primary elections

Early voting for the March 1, 2016, Democratic Republican primaries began Tuesday, February 16, 2016, and continues through Friday, February 26, 2016. Voters in all Coke County Precincts may vote at the Courthouse Monday, February 22, to Thursday, February 25, from 8 am to 12 noon and 1 pm until 5 pm. On Friday, the Courthouse closes at 1 pm. Early voting will be held at the Courthouse today, February 19, and Friday, February 26, from 8 am to 1 pm.

County offices up for election include Coke County Commissioners in Precincts 1 and 3, currently held by Gene Montgomery and Gaylon Pitcock; County Constables in Precincts 1 and 2, currently held by Marshall Millican and Marty Boyd respectively; County Attorney, currently held by Nancy Arthur; County Tax Assessor/Collector, currently held by Josie Dean; and County Sheriff, currently held by Wayne McCutchen.

Wayne McCutchen, Marty

Boyd and Josie Dean have filed to retain their offices and will run unopposed. Nicholas Arrott II will run unopposed for County Attorney. Nobody filed for the office of Constable, Precinct 1.

There will be several candidates on the ballot for the Commissioner positions in Precincts 1 and 3. In the Republican primary, Shaunna Grantham, Donald Robertson, Sid Burns and Michael Salls are candidates for Precinct 1 Commissioner and Marshall Millican and Andy Swinney are candidates for Precinct 3 Commissioner. In the Democrat primary, Charles Yorke is a candidate for Precinct 3 Commissioner.

The election for Precinct 1 Commissioner should decided in the primary election. The Precinct 3 race will be a lasting marathon until November. In the November 8th general election, the winner of the Republican primary (either Millican or Swinney) will face off against Democrat Charles Yorke and Bill Burns, Independent.



Reeves Takes Grand Championship! Katlyn Reeves of Bronte, won Grand Champion Jr. Whether Doe with her entry at the Jr. Whether Doe champion drive held February 11, 2016, at the San Antonio Livestock Show & Rodeo. Katlyn, a member of Coke County 4-H, received a \$10,000 scholarship as well. She is the first ever champion for the San Antonio Jr. Whether Doe show and credits her success to her hard working parents and ag teacher. Katlyn has shown at San Antonio for five years now with various animals but her favorite moment is "getting that grand champion handshake." She is hoping to attend Texas Tech University upon graduation and be a part of the wool judging team.



Friday, February 19, 2016

Ribbon Cutting Ceremony! Members of Robert Lee's Vision with a Purpose were on hand for the Ribbon Cutting Ceremony and Celebration at Ms T's. Ms T's is Robert Lee's newest addition to the business community. Ms T (better known as Tina Prentice) blesses Robert Lee and the surrounding communities with her talent for making lovely floral arrangements.

# Decorations stolen in Robert Lee

Several of the Valentines Day decorations in the Vision with a Purpose pots placed in downtown Robert Lee were stolen recently.

Anyone with any information, please contact the Coke County Sheriff's Office at (325) 453-2717.

# **Bronte FUMC** posts schedule

The Bronte First United Methodist Church Holy Week Services will be held beginning Sunday, March 20. There will be more information on these services at a later date.

### Mt Creek membership meeting set

The Mountain Creek Golf general membership meeting will be held at 1 pm Saturday, March 5, 2016, at the course clubhouse. All members are encouraged to attend this important meeting.

### Local government entity filing period ends today

The filing period for the May 7, 2016, local government entity elections ends at 5 pm today, Friday, February 19, 2016.

The City of Robert Lee will hold an election for the position of mayor and for two council members. These are two years terms. The offices are currently held by Mayor Leroy Casey and council members Sid Burns and Richard Johnson. Applications may be picked up at the City Secretary office at the Robert Lee City Hall.

an election for mayor and three council positions. These are two year terms. The offices are currently held by Mayor Gerald Sandusky and council members Wade Stautzenberger, Paul Gohman, and Jodie Arrott. Applications can be picked up at City Hall.

To be eligible for a seat on a city councils, a person must be a registered voter and must reside within that city on the date of the election.

Bronte ISD will hold an election for two members of the Board of Trustees. These are three year terms currently held by Shane Kelton and Kay Styles. Applications may be picked up at the Bronte ISD Administration Office during the hours of 8 am to 4 pm, Monday through Friday.

election to elect two members of are three year terms currently

The City of Bronte will hold held by Erin Oleksiuk and Beverly Sinclair. Applications for candidates to apply for a position on the Robert Lee ISD Board of Trustees may be picked up at the Robert Lee ISD Administration Office between 8 am and 3:30 pm Monday through Friday.

> Requirements for filing for school board are that you must have lived in the state for one year and six months in the school district prior to filing, be at least 18 years of age, and be a registered voter at the time of

> West Coke County Hospital District will have three two year terms on their ballot for their Board of Trustees. The terms of Pat Stephens, Pat Carwile and Sarah Green are expiring.

East Coke County Hospital District Board of Trustees will also have three two year terms Robert Lee ISD will hold an on the ballot. These offices are currently held by Howard Baker, the Board of Trustees. These Lanette Fletcher, and Everett Bedford.

Regular Meeting of the **Commissioners Court** 9 am Tuesday February 23, 2016 **Commissioners Courtroom Coke County Courthouse**