



(USPS 467-480) (ISSN 8750-197X)

Vol. 128, No. 34

Friday, March 4, 2016

Voters turn out for Primary Elections

Coke County had quite a turn-out at the polls for the 2016 Primary Elections. Princints 1 and 3 boosted the 39.55% turnout due to contested commissioner races in both precincts. Of this percentage, 37.21% voted in the Republican Primary with only 2.34% voting in the Democrat Primary. These percentages reveal the trend toward Republican voting in Coke County is continuing.

Only two county offices were contested, Coke County Commissioner Precinct 1 and Commissioner Precinct 3.

The results in Precinct 1 in the Republican Primary were Donald Robertson 72, Shaunna Grantham 66, Sid Burns 62 and Mike Salls 59. With no one candidate reaching the 50% plus 1 vote, there will be a run-off election held Tuesday, May 24, 2016, between the top two candidates - Donald Robertson and Shaunna Grantham. There were no candidates for this office in the Democrat Primary and no Independent filed a Letter of Intent.

The results in Precinct 3 in the Republican Primary were Marshall Millican 135 and Andy Swinney 98. Charles Yorke received 14 votes in the Democrat Primary. These two gentlemen will face each other in November's General Election. They will be joined by Bill Burns who has filed his Letter of Intent as an Independent for this office.

Other Coke County offices on the ballot in the Republican Primary included Constable Precinct 2 Marty Boyd, who received 270 votes with 90 under votes; Nicholas E. Arrott, II, for County Attorney, with 673 votes and 182 under votes; County Tax Assessor/Collector Josie Dean with 667 votes and 186 under votes; County Sheriff Wayne McCutchen with 737 votes and 122 under votes; County Chairman, Susan Williams with 592 votes and 259 under votes.

The only other Coke County position in the Democrat Primary was for County Chairman where Robert Houck was unopposed. He received 44 votes with 10 under votes.

In the race for the Republican Presidential nomination, Coke County agreed with the rest of Texas on the top three picks. However, we split with the state

when it came to places 4 and 5. Ted Cruz received 405 votes in Coke County and 43.76% statewide; Donald Trump received 251 votes in Coke County and 26.75% statewide; and Marco Rubio received 85 votes in Coke County and 17.73% statewide. In Coke County, Ben Carson received 50 votes, but finished in 5th place statewide with 4.15%. John Kasich received 23 votes in Coke County, but placed 4th in Texas with 4.24%.

Coke County Democrat Primary voters were evenly split between Bernie Sanders and Hillary Clinton with 25 votes each in the race to receive the Presidential nomination. Statewide Clinton came in with 65.18% to Sanders 33.18%.

Precinct 1 Commissioner won't be the only office on ballot in the Republican May 24, 2016, run-off election. Gary Gates with 28.35% and Wayne Christian with 19.75% with face Texas Railroad Commissioner. Mary Lou Keel with 39.42% will go against Rich Wheless with 35.42% for Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2. For Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5, Scott Walker with 41.48% will face Brent Webster with 20.45%.

Although there are no local offices on the ballot in the Democrat run-off election on May 24, Grady Yarbrough with 39.95% will face Cody Garrett with 35.15% for Texas Railroad Commissioner.

Coke County voters seemed to disagree with statewide voters when it came to judicial races in the Republican Primary. In the race for Justice, Supreme Court, 3, Incumbent Debra Lehrmann only received 227 votes in Coke County to Michael Massengale's 370 votes. However, statewide Lehrmann won with 52.20% of the vote. In the race for Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5, Incumbent Paul Green only received 156 votes in Coke County to Rick Green's 416 votes. However, statewide Paul Green won with 52.07%. In the race for Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9, Incumbent Eva Guzman only received 246 votes in Coke County to Joe Pool's 345 votes. However, statewide Guzman won with 59.21% of the vote. The only judicial race Coke County voters agreed with



Good Chili! The Robert Lee/Silver Lions Club held their annual Chili Supper last Saturday evening! Great food, fun, and fellowship was enjoyed at this community fundraiser. Photo Courtesy of Leta Caston.

statewide voters was the election for Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6, between incumbent Michael Keasler and Richard Davis. Keasler received 302 votes to Davis' 232 votes and won with a statewide percentage of 56.87%.

Other unopposed votes totals for offices on the March 1st Coke County Republican Primary ballot included the following:

United States Representative, District 11, Mike Conaway with 693 votes and 164 under votes.

Member, State Board of Education, District 15, Marty Rowley with 525 votes and 321 under votes.

State Senator, District 28, Charles Perry with 590 votes and 262 under votes.

State Representative Drew Darby with 704 votes and 161 under votes.

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 2, Cindy Olson Bourland with 526 votes and 321 under votes.

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 4, Melissa Goodwin with 539 votes and 308 under votes.

District Judge, 51st Judicial District, Barbara Walther with 617 votes and 237 under votes.

District, Allison Palmer with 555

votes and 295 under votes.

Other unopposed votes totals for offices on the March 1st

Coke County Democrat Primary ballot included the following:

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3, Mike Westergren with 41 votes and 12 under votes.

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5, Dori Garza with 33 votes and 18 under votes.

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9, Savannah Robinson with 35 votes and 19 under votes.

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2, Lawrence Meyers with 40 votes and 14 under votes.

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5, Betsy Johnson with 38 votes and 16 under votes.

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6, Robert Burns with 39 votes and 15 under votes.

Referenda and Proposition

results are included on page 3 of this issue.

Mt Creek membership meeting set

The Mountain Creek Golf Club general membership meeting will be held at 1 pm Saturday, March 5, 2016, at the course clubhouse. All members are encouraged to attend this important meeting.

Sanco Homecoming meeting set for March 6

There will be a meeting for the Sanco Homecoming Association Sunday, March 6, at 2 pm at the Sanco Pavillion, weather permitting. Refreshments will be provided.

Golf Tourney set for Mountain Creek

Mountain Creek Golf Association has a 3 person, 27 (Continued on page 7)

Regular Meeting of the
Commissioners Court

9 am Tuesday
March 8, 2016
Commissioners Courtroom
Coke County Courthouse