Single Copy 65¢



(USPS 467-480) (ISSN 8750-197X)

Vol. 128, No. 44

Friday, May 13, 2016

Saluting the Bronte High School Class of 2016

Serving Coke County

BSERVER/ NTERPRISE

Formal commencement exercises for nine Bronte High School seniors will be held Friday evening, May 20, 2016, at 7 pm in the Bronte School Auditorium.

The evening's ceremony will begin with the processional by Mrs. Maureen Youngblood. The National Anthem will follow the Invocation, given by Rankin DeRonde.

The Salutatory Address, given by Ean Ward, will precede Principal Donna Poehls' presentation of awards. The "Senior Memories," compiled by Mrs. Mica Henson, will follow the awards presentation.

Vanessa Waasdorp will then give the Valedictory Address. Principal Poehls will introduce the evening's speaker, Mrs. Lisa Gibbs.

Mr. Tim Siler, Superintendent of Schools, Shane Kelton, BISD Board of Trustees President, and Ms. Poehls will award the diplomas. Tyler Blankenship-Menchaca will lead the benediction to conclude the evening's ceremonies.

This year's class members include Benjamin James Allen, Louis Blankenship-Tyler Menchaca, Jerica Angelique Rankin Michael Davis, DeRonde, Emmery Hope McCullough, Sarah Ann Sanchez, Kellie Ann Thorn, Vanessa Rose Waasdorp, and Ean Robert Ward.

Bronte 8th Grade Promotion planned

A promotion program for Bronte Junior High School 8th Grades will be held Thursday benediction to conclude the evening's ceremonies.

This year's class members include Mason Aguirri, Gabriel Basquez, John Baumil, Karissa Cervenka, Presley Cravens, Dree Davis, Elexia Davis, Demory, Daxtyn Anthony Dominguez, Orlando Duanys, Cindy Gentles, Raleigh Hortenstine, Donald Huffstutler, Riley McIntire, Mia Minjarez, Brendan Penner, Searra Powell, Megan Reyes, Kyalyn Seales, Zoe Watkins and Corey West.

Three local entities held elections this past Saturday, May 7, 2016. These include the city of Robert Lee and both the Bronte and Robert Lee school districts.

The City of Robert Lee needed to fill the position of mayor and two council members. These are two years terms. The offices are currently held by Mayor Leroy Casey and council members Sid Burns and Richard Johnson. Mayor Casey, running unopposed, will retain his seat. Jeanette Meeks held her seat on the council with 58 votes. She will joined on the council by Joe Longoria with 55 votes. Sid Burns had 35 votes.

Bronte ISD held an election to fill two places on the Board of Trustees. These are three year terms currently held by Shane Kelton and Kay Styles. Shane Kelton retains his seat on the board with 83 votes. He will be joined on the board by Josh Schoenfield with 77 votes. Kay Styles had 37 votes and Brandon Busby had 20 votes. Robert Lee ISD held an election to elect two members to the Board of Trustees. These are three year terms currently held by Erin Oleksiuk and Beverly Sinclair. Incumbents Erin Oleksiuk and Beverly Sinclair were returned to the Board with 89 and 88 votes respectively. Sherry Davidson had 31 votes.



BHS Honor Graduates! Bronte High School honor graduates for 2016 have been announced. The Valedictorian (left) is Vanessa Waasdorp, daughter of Robert and Wendy Hembree. She was involved in One Act Play which advanced to area in 2015, where she received an award for Best Sound. Vanessa was also Bronte High School's 2015 Homecoming Queen this year. She plans to attend Angelo State University and major in education. The Salutatorian is Ean Ward, son of Veronica and Santiago Rodriguez. Texas teams for football and basketball. He is also a member of Student Council as President. Ean was selected to play in the Fellowship of Christian Athletes football game this summer. He plans to attend Howard Junior College to major in civil engineering.

Please register before 12 noon Friday, May 13, and please let us know if you need a cart and leave a call back number.

For more information please contact the Club House at 325-473-2156 or Debbie at 325-262-6617.

Youth Benefit set for Saturday

The Coke County Cowboy Church will hold a Youth Camp Benefit Saturday, May 14, at the Old Texas Theater in Bronte.

The Goat Roping for kids of all ages will run from 3 pm to



BJH Honor Graduates! Bronte Junior High School honor graduates for 2016 have been announced. The Valedictorian (left) is Hunter Hortenstine, son of Lee and Tammy Hortenstine. The

evening, May 19, 2016, at 7 pm in the Bronte School Auditorium.

Following the processional by Mrs. Maureen Youngblood, Gabriel Basquez will give the invocation. The National Anthem follows

Principal Donna Poehls will present the Honor Graduates. Elexia Davis will give the Salutatory Address, followed by the "8th Grade Memories," compiled by Mrs. Mica Henson. Hunter Hortenstine will then give his Valedictory Address.

Mr. Tim Siler, Superintendent of Schools, and Ms. Poehls will award the certificates. Karissa Cervenka will lead the

Bronte Golf Tourney set for Saturday

Bronte Longhorn Golf Club has a 2 person, 27 hole scramble slated for Saturday, May 14, with a 9 am tee time planned. This is the Wilson Tournament. Entry fees will need to be checks or cash only, please. 5:30 pm.

Dinner will be held at 6 pm followed by the movie "Nail 32". Annual Bronte Letter Carrier Food Drive slated for May 14

The Annual Bronte Letter Carrier Food Drive, benefiting Salt of the Earth Food Ministry, is set for Saturday, May 14.

Canned meats, canned fruit, canned vegetables, canned juices, pasta, rice, dried beans & peas, crackers, breakfast foods, condiments, or any nonperishable food items will be accepted. No glass items please. Please help the Bronte Post Office and Rural Letter Carrier by filling a bag with food items Salutatorian is Elexia Davis, daughter of Angela and Jason Wilson.

and taking it to the post office or fill a bag for the carrier to pick up on the route Saturday, May 14, 2016. Your contributions will stay within the Bronte community helping feed local families.

Early Voting begins May 16 in Primary Run-off Elections

A run-off election will be held for both the Democrat and Republican parties on May 24, 2016. Early voting in these elections is set for May 16-21 at the Coke County Courthouse. Only one local race will be on the ballot in the Republican runoff. Shauna Grantham will face off against Donald Robertson for Precinct 1 Commissioner. Also in the Republican run-off will be the following state offices. Gary Gates and Wayne Christian will face off for Texas Railroad Commissioner. Mary Lou Keel will go against Ray Wheless for Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2. For Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5, Scott Walker will face Brent Webster.

Although there are no local offices on the ballot in the Democrat run-off election, Grady Yarbrough will face Cody Garrett for Texas Railroad Commissioner.